AHA recognizes six women for its top annual awards

Six women take home honors for research, clinical and achievement work.

Getty Images 636087522

The American Heart Association awarded its annual top prizes to six women during Scientific Sessions 2020. The awards and their recipients are listed below:

Basic Research Prize

Ann Marie Schmidt, MD

Clinical Research Prize

Anne B. Newman, MD, MPH

Chairman’s Award

Sonia Y. Angell, MD, MPH

Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award

Nanette K. Wenger, MD, FAHA

Population Research Prize

Michelle A. Albert, MD, MPH

Research Achievement Award